Skip navigation

November 20-22 ’09

The Eastside Culture Crawl – an event where local artists open their studios to the public. This annual affair took over my humble studio walls for one weekend in Late Autumn; shoes squeaking in and out, eyeballs flying around, umbrellas splashing November rain, with me, trying to take it all in.

The weather decided to be extra nasty, perhaps to weed out the faint of heart and pull forth the more dedicated art lovers out there.

Paper, canvas and more paper in frames! I managed to sell a few drawings and cards. Lots of scribbles in my guestbook and new cards to add to my growing collection of acquaintances, artists and names on paper.

It seems that my target audience is male computer nerds and young couples who either enjoy penguins, strangely drawn people or video games.

For me, the most fulfilling part about the crawl was hearing people laugh at my drawings. It would bring a smile to my face when, despite the terrible weather, people would look at my drawings (complete with soaking bodies and squishy shoes) and laugh at the printed dialogue between my silly characters.

Leave a Reply

